Marketing

Yoko Ono to hold ‘Imagine Global Listening Event’ with Spotify


Tags:

Tomorrow (9 October) would have been John Lennon’s 78th birthday if he was still alive. Yoko Ono is set to mark the anniversary of her late husband and musical collaborator with a ‘global listening event’ based on the album ‘Imagine’. Or, to be specific, ‘Imagine – The Ultimate Collection’ – a new remastered version of the album that stretches to 140 tracks, and which was released last Friday.

Tomorrow’s event will be using Spotify: fans will need a free or premium account on the streaming service to take part in the event, which kicks off at 11am Pacific-time (that’s 2pm Eastern Time and 7pm GMT) tomorrow. “You are cordially invited to join Yoko Ono and very Special Guests for the Imagine Global Listening Event,” explains its online invitation. “Take a tour with the musicians, engineers and filmmakers inside the making of the seminal album and film. Listen to the classic album and chat with fans in real time.”

It’ll be interesting to see what technology or platform Universal Music and Spotify are using for the real-time chat aspects around the event – in the past, startups like Soundrop and JQBX have explored chat/listening rooms for Spotify, but the service itself has steered clear.

Stuart Dredge

Read More: Marketing News
Leave a Reply

(All fields required)