News

#TheShowMustBePaused creators to talk for SoundCloud livestream


Tags:

The creators of the #TheShowMustBePaused campaign against racism and inequality in the music industry will be talking about their plans next week, in an episode of SoundCloud’s ‘Cloud Bar’ video show on Twitch.

Jamila Thomas and Brianna Agyemang will be interviewed by Lisa Ellis, SoundCloud’s global head of music, artist relations and label services. The show will air at 2pm PST / 5pm EST / 10pm BST on SoundCloud’s Twitch channel on Thursday 9 July.

When Thomas and Agyemang were interviewed by Billboard last month, they explained some of their plans. “We’re formalising various committees as we divide the organisation into two branches. One branch will focus on social justice and systemic racism … from the boardroom to the boulevard,” said Thomas. “The other branch has to do with restructuring the organisation within music industry companies to gain more room for growth opportunities for Black people.”

Stuart Dredge

Read More: News
Leave a Reply

(All fields required)